One of the things that I am beginning to love about blogging is that finding other bloggers with great posts is easy. Just today I came across Blogshul. Rabbi Yonah posts about an interesting family that devotes there time to helping others:

Miracle in the Hood

This brings up an interesting point. As I continue to grow in my conversion I am inspired by the level of importance that Judaism places on tzedakah (charity). This is not just some afterthought or something that is done only around the holidays. It is an everyday event. A lot of families have their own tzedakah box where all family members are encouraged to make donations which are collected and distributed to various charities.

This year, as my family celebrates our first Chanukah we have set aside one night where instead of giving presents to each other we will give to those truly in need. In fact, I’m looking forward to setting up our own tzedakah box and making charity a bigger priority in all of our lives.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

