Thanks to Jason Patterson, I’ve come across a video series called God on Trial (WARNING: profanity, violence) produced by the BBC.

The screenplay is based on an event described by Elie Wiesel in his book The Trial of God, where prisoners of Auschwitz form a Beit Din to decide whether or not YHWH has broken His covenant with Israel. The story is fictional but stunning nevertheless. It asks the question “what if?” What if YHWH has abandoned us? What if we are no longer the chosen people?

What I see is mankind trying to bring YHWH down to our level. The men in the play try to reason why He would ever allow such an atrocity to happen. They are afraid, angry, depressed, in a word broken. Please understand, I do not judge these men, who am I to speak about HaShoah, the Holocaust? I have never experienced suffering like this, nor would I ever want to. As I grow in my conversion I feel obligated to study the history of the Jewish people. I do it to honor those that went before me and gave all so that I can enjoy everything I have. As I study and learn I intend to share my thoughts but in no way am I writing from the position of an expert on these matters. Today, I just want to share my thoughts on another common experience, trying to humanize Elohim.

Most of us have had similar thoughts and questions. Why does YHWH allow so much pain? Why do the good suffer while the bad profit? There is an easy answer. We are not YHWH.

Yeshayahu (Isaiah) 55:8  “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways,” declares YHWH.

The answer is we cannot see the big picture. Our tiny slice of life is based upon a narrow perspective. We simply have to admit we do not understand it all. Let’s stop trying to figure YAH out. He is beyond our understanding. He is too great for our minds to comprehend, and therein lies the blessing. All we have to do is live our lives according to the Torah and accept Yahushuah as our Messiah. Yes, I said we have to obey Torah and accept Yahushuah as Messiah. You cannot have one without the other. Torah points to Messiah, Messiah points to the Torah. Yahushuah states himself:

Mattithyahu (Matthew) 5:17-18  “Do not think that I came to destroy the Torah or the Prophets. I did not come to destroy but to complete. For truly, I say to you, till the heaven and the earth pass away, one jot or one tittle shall by no means pass from the Torah till all be done.”

The Torah is not a burden. For once in my life I do not feel restricted but rather free. By obeying my Father the yoke is removed from my back and I am free to live life as it should be. The Torah is a blessing, it shows me how my Father wants me to live and in doing so I actually enjoy my life. What child does not want to please his Father? What son does not want to make his Father proud?

Yet, I understand fully that I cannot be saved by Torah alone. Only one has ever lived blameless, and because He came into this world to be that perfect sacrifice, I am forgiven. So, does that me I can do whatever I please? Is Yahushuah a get out of jail free card? No! If you truly repent of your sins then you turn away from them, you will loathe them and want to cut them from your life as a surgeon would remove a tumor.

This surgery is not accomplished in an hour, or a day, or even a year. It lasts a lifetime. Everyday that I learn more I feel closer to YHWH. I know I have been that prodigal son that wallowed in the mud and is beginning to make the long trek home. Everyday He cleans a little more mud off of me and guides me back to Him. One day I will be home with Him but I cannot enter the house still dirty from my trip, one day I will be clean and what a day that will be!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

