While many of us were preparing for the upcoming Thanksgiving feast with thoughts of turkey and cranberries dancing in our heads, there was another group of people fearing for their lives, victims of yet another senseless tragedy.

As I’m sure you have already heard, last week over 140 people were victims of a terrorist attack in Mumbai, India. Among the victims were a Chabad Rabbi, his wife Rivkah, and three other Israelis whose names have not been released. Since learning of this I have been wondering how exactly I should approach writing about this, or if I am even qualified to speak on such matters.

As I have done in the past and will continue to do in the future, when I find another blog that covers a topic in such a way that I do not feel I could add more value to what has already been said, I will step back and link you to their posting. Such was the case today when I came across this blog that sincerely spoke on the matter and left me feeling a little peace in my heart:

How to Turn Tragedy into a Learning and Growing Experience, by Bargain Jewess

I also just learned of the saying: Baruch Dayan HaEmet, Blessed is the Judge of truth. Apparently, it is traditional to acknowledge YHWH as the Judge of truth upon learning of someone’s death. Once again we are told to put away our anger and realize that YHWH has a greater plan for our lives than what we assume, even in death. Todah, thank you Frume Sarah for teaching me something new.

I’d like to close with the following mitzvah:

V’ahavta lerei’acha kamocha, shalom. Love your neighbor as yourself, peace.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

